Skip navigation

Finding Similarities Working with Differences…

The Muslim Jesus is not divine, but a humble servant of God. He was not crucified – Islam insists that the story of the killing of Jesus is false. He is, as it were, Jesus as he might have been without St Paul or St Augustine or the Council of Nicaea

By John Casey, Daily Telegraph (London) 19 December 2001

Greetings, Peace be upon you…

See: Luke 10:5, Luke 24:36, Genesis 43:23, Numbers 6:26, I Samuel 1:17 & 25:6

Judges 6:23: But the Lord said to him, “Peace! Do not be afraid. You are not going to die.

John 20:19 (21,26): Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you!”

Al-An’âm(6):54: When hen those who believe in Our signs come to you, say: “Salâmun ‘Alaykum” (peace be on you)

Say God Willing…

James 4:15 : Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that

Al-Kahf (18):23 : And never say of anything, ‘I shall do such and such thing tomorrow. Except (by saying): ‘If God wills!’

Purification…

See: Exodus 30:19, Exodus 19:10; 1 Samuel 16:5; 2 Chronicles 29:5

Exodus 40:31: Moses & Aaron & his sons used it to wash their hands and feet. They washed whenever they entered the Tent of Meeting or approached the altar, as the LORD commanded Moses

Mark 7:3: The Pharisees and all the Jews do not eat unless they give their hands a ceremonial washing, holding to the tradition of the elders

John 13:10: Jesus answered, “A person who has had a bath needs only to wash his feet; his whole body is clean. And you are clean, though not every one of you

Al-Maida(5):6:When you stand up to pray, wash your faces, and your hands up to the elbows, and wipe your heads, and your feet up to the ankles, And if you are in a state. requiring total ablution, purify yourselves…

Praying…Worshipping…Prostrating

See: Luke 5:16, Genesis 17:3, Joshua 5:14, 1 Samuel 20:41, contrast Luke 22:42-44 and Hebrews 5:7

2 Chronicles 20:18: Jehoshaphat bowed with his face to the ground, and all the people of Judah and Jerusalem fell down in worship before the LORD.

Matthew 26:39:Going a little farther, he (Jesus) fell with his face to the ground and prayed. (also Matthew 26:42,44)

An-Nisâ’(4):102:…then when they have performed their prostration let them fall to the rear and let another group come that has not worshiped yet and let them worship with you.

Muslims pray falling on their faces, called sajdah (prostration).

Fasting…

See: I Kings 19:8, Matthew 4:2

Exodus 34:28: Moses was there with the LORD forty days and forty nights without eating bread or drinking water. And he wrote on the tablets the words of the covenant. (The Ten Commandments)

Luke 4:2: where for forty days he was tempted by the devil. He ate nothing during those days, and at the end of them he was hungry.

Al-Baqara(2):183:O believers, prescribed for you is the fast, even as it was prescribed for those that were before you- haply you will be Allah fearing

Jesus…

See : James 2:14-25; Matthew 5:17-19, Matthew 7:21-23, Matthew 15:24, Luke 16:17, Luke 6:46-49, John 15:10

John 5:30 : By myself I can do nothing; I judge only as I hear, and my judgment is just, for I seek not to please myself but him who sent me (Matthew 19:17, John 5:19, John 7:16, John 14:28)

John 5:37 : And the father himself which Has sent me, has borne witness of me. You have neither heard His voice at any time nor seen His shape (Mark 13:32, John 4:34, John 6:38)

John 12:44-50 : Jesus proclaimed aloud: “Whoever puts faith in me believes not so much in me as in him who sent me; ….. For I have not spoken on my own; no, the Father who sent me has commanded me what to say and how to speak. Since I know that his commandment means eternal life, whatever I say is spoken just as he instructed me.

(Mark 10-18, Luke 18:19, John 8:28, John 14:28, John 15:10)

Matthew 7:21-23 : Not everyone who says to me, “lord, lord” will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. Many will say to me on that day, “lord, lord” did we not prophesy in your name, and in your name drive out demons and perform many miracles?’ Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!

Jesus (as) was the lord of the Lost Sheep of Israel (as in landlord or A British King who is the lord of a nation, a master, a teacher, a sheep herder) Not The Lord of the Worlds, as in Qur’aan, Fatiha[1]:2, which would be Jesus’ Lord who is God Almighty, his God and our God and sent Jesus(as) to earth.

Matthew 15:24 : He (Jesus) answered, “I was sent only to the lost sheep of Israel.”

Luke 3:36 : Enos was the son of Seth, and Seth was the son of Adam, and Adam was the son of God.

Numbers 23:19 :God is not a man, that He should lie; neither the son of man, that He should repent: hath He said, and shall He not do it? or hath He spoken, and shall He not make it good?

Psalms 2:7 : I (David) will proclaim the decree of the Lord: he said to me (David), ‘you are my Son; this day have I begotten you (David).

Mark 6:10 :Why do you call me good?” answered Jesus, “No-one is good but God alone!

John 17:3 :And this is life eternal, that they might know thee, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom thou has sent

Mark 12:28-30 : And one of the scribes came, and having heard them reasoning together, and perceiving that he had answered them well, asked him, ‘Which is the first commandment of all?’ And Jesus answered him: ‘The first of all the commandments is; hear O Israel, the Lord thy God is One Lord: and thou shalt love the Lord, thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind, and with all thy strength: this is the first commandment.

Matthew 15:9 and Mark 7:7 :But in vain they do worship me, teaching for doctrines the commandments of men.

Who does this verse apply to?

Mark 14:36 : And he [Jesus] said, “Abba, Father, all things are possible to thee; remove this cup from me; yet not what I will, but what thou wilt

Whose will? God’s Will or Jesus’ will? Is Jesus a Submitter of his will to God’s Will, just like a Muslim?

Matthew 26:39 : Going a little farther, he (Jesus) fell with his face to the ground and prayed, “My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will.”

If Jesus’ (as) prayers weren’t answered to be saved from the torture of unbelievers, why would the prayers of anyone else be accepted? Indeed The Almighty accepted his prayers so they couldn’t kill him, neither crucify him. They only thought they did…

Luke 22:42-44 : “Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done.” An angel from heaven appeared to him and strengthened him. And being in anguish, he prayed more earnestly, and his sweat was like drops of blood falling to the ground.

Hebrews 5:7 : During the days of Jesus’ life on earth, he offered up prayers and petitions with loud cries and tears to the one who could save him from death, and he was heard because of his reverent submission.

also see … Matthew 27:46

Some one who says, “Yet not as I will, but as YOU will.” is by definition a Muslim (One Who Submits His Will To God Almighty). This is the Islamic understanding of the reason of creation.

Al-Mâ’idah(5):116: On the Resurrection Day, Allah will say, “O Jesus, son of Mary! Did you say to mankind, ‘Worship me and my mother as deities besides God?” He will respond, “Be Glorified! Never could I say what was not my right. If I said such a thing, You would indeed know it. You know what is in my mind, and I know not what is in Your mind. You, only You are the Knower of what is beyond human perception.” Never did I say to them except what You Commanded me to say, “Worship & obey Allâh my Lord and your Lord.”

Al-‘Imrân (3):59: The likeness of Jesus before Allah is as the likeness of Adam. (Both names mentioned in Qur’ân 25 times, this matching of counts is due to word “likeness”. If the comparison said “unlike”, the compared terms would have existed one count off of each other, Truly Allâh’s Book is magnificent.

Maryam (19):30: I am indeed a servant of Allâh: He has given me Revelation and made me a Prophet (Matthew 12:18, John 20:17)

Also see: Al-Mâ’idah (5):73; An-Nisâ’ (4):171, Circumcised, Luke 2:21; Mission, Matthew 15:24, Matthew 10:5-6, God, Mark 12:29-30, Matthew 22:37, Luke 10:27, John 14:9, John 5:37, John 1:18; Children, Psalm 82:1,6, Psalm 2:7, Luke 3:38, Exodus 4:22, Jeremiah 31:9

Paul , 2 Cor 12:16; Food , Lev 11:8 ,Mark 5:13; Muhammad , Song of Solomon 5:16, John 14:16, Isa 21:7,13, 42:11, Ezekiel 27:21, Deuteronomy 18:18,33:2, 32:21; Bible , Deuteronomy 31:25-29, Jeremiah 8:8

IV. TRANSMISSION OF THE TEXT

No book of ancient times has come down to us exactly as it left the hands of its author–all have been in some way altered. The material conditions under which a book was spread before the invention of printing (1440), the little care of the copyists, correctors, and glossators for the text, so different from the desire of accuracy exhibited today, explain sufficiently the divergences we find between various manuscripts of the same work. To these causes may be added, in regard to the Scriptures, exegetical difficulties and dogmatical controversies.

Taken From Catholic Encyclopedia: here and here

he gave this command to the Levites who carried the ark of the covenant of the LORD : “Take this Book of the Law and place it beside the ark of the covenant of the LORD your God. There it will remain as a witness against you. For I know how rebellious and stiff-necked you are. If you have been rebellious against the LORD while I am still alive and with you, how much more will you rebel after I die! Assemble before me all the elders of your tribes and all your officials, so that I can speak these words in their hearing and call heaven and earth to testify against them. For I know that after my death you are sure to become utterly corrupt and to turn from the way I have commanded you. In days to come, disaster will fall upon you because you will do evil in the sight of the LORD and provoke him to anger by what your hands have made.”

Deuteronomy 31:25-29

How can you say, “We are wise, for we have the law of the LORD,” when actually the lying pen of the scribes has handled it falsely? (NIV)

How do ye say, We are wise, and the law of the LORD is with us? Lo, certainly in vain made he it; the pen of the scribes is in vain. (KJV)

Jeremiah 8:8

But, what about the Qur’aan? …

Falsehood can never have access to it, whether from before it or from behind it (whether by arguments and attitudes based on modern philosophies or by attacks from the past based on earlier Scriptures) (it is) the Book being sent down in parts from the One All-Wise, All-Praiseworthy (to Whom all praise and gratitude belong).

Fussilat(41):42

Indeed it is We (Allaah), We Who send down the Reminder (Qur’aan) in parts, and it is indeed We Who are its Guardian.

Al’Hijr(15):9

We have sent down to you (O Messenger) the Book with the truth (embodying it, and with nothing false in it), confirming (the Divine authorship of and the truths that are still contained by) whatever of the Book was revealed before it, and guarding over (all the true teachings in) it. Judge, then, between them by what God has sent down (to you), and do not follow their desires and caprices away from the truth that has come to you. For each (community to which a Messenger was sent with a Book) have We appointed a clear way of life and a comprehensive system (containing the principles of that way and how to follow it). And if God had so willed, He would surely have made you a single community (following the same way of life and system surrounded by the same conditions throughout all history); but (He willed it otherwise) in order to test you by what He granted to you (and thereby made you subject to a law of progress). Strive, then, together as if competing in good works. To God is the return of all of you, and He will then make you understand (the truth) about what you have differed on.

Al’Maa’idah(5):48

also see … Al’Baqara(2):79 and Al-Maa’idah(5):41

Next Part: Non-Muslim Views of the Prophet Muhammad ص

Heart to Heart Part 10

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. By Heart to Heart Part 8 « My Wadud on 28 Nov 2008 at 7:33 am
  2. By Heart to Heart Part 11 « My Wadud on 28 Nov 2008 at 11:14 am

Leave a comment